Monroe County, Indiana

Welcoming people from all walks of life.

Community Justice Response Committee

CONTACT us at  


The Committee shall serve in an advisory role to assist the government of Monroe County in reviewing and, where appropriate, recommend steps for implementation of the RJS Justice Services and Inclusivity Strategic Consulting Reports (“Reports”).  Particularly as it relates to community resources necessary to divert individuals from the system or transition individuals once released from the Criminal Justice System.    


Recognizing our commitment to public safety, we will work collaboratively and transparently to:

  1. Prioritize treatment over incarceration, when appropriate.
  2. Build a justice facility that meets constitutional standards and treats inmates with dignity.
  3. Address inequities in race, economic status, disability, national origin, sexual orientation, and gender.
  4. Reduce the number of people entering the criminal justice system and reduce recidivism for those who are/ were in the system.


All three (3) County Commissioners, three (3) County Council members, two (2) representatives from the Board of Judges, one of which will be the presiding judge (or his/ her designee) and one (1) representative from the following offices: Sheriff’s Office, Public Defender’s Office, and Prosecutor’s Office.

Committee Application 


Slides on Court Process from 04/18 Commissioners' Meeting

DLZ Presentation 04/17/2023

County Council Recommendations- Justice Campus Land: Towards a Constitutionally Sound Jail

Monroe County Justice Offices- current square footage numbers

Monroe County Jail Facility Condition Update

National Association of Counties Webinar Series, Reducing Jail Populations: A Virtual Learning Series
Information concerning the renovation of the current jail facility;

Monroe County Justice Complex 

Request for Qualifications

DLZ Submittal-Monroe County Justice Complex

ELEVATUS Submittal- Monroe County Justice Complex

RQAW Submittal- Monroe County Justice Complex


Health Department Survey Slide Presentation

Health Department: Survey Responses and Questions

Survey Responses: Judicial Branch
Survey Responses: Public Defender's Office and Prosecutor's Office
Monroe County Penultimate Final Report
2021: Criminal Justice Key Findings & Recommendations 
Criminal Justice & Incarceration Study 2020
2020 NCCHC Annual Report
Criminal Justice Strengths Assessment & Gap Analysis
Elevating Restoration in County Justice Facilities
Stride Center Updates 2023
Stride Center Updates 2022

In this Department

Topics of Interest

More Info

Find content and services related to this page.