

MONROE COUNTY COUNCIL

Monroe County Courthouse Room 306 100 W Kirkwood Avenue Bloomington, IN 47404 Phone: (812) 349-7312

CouncilOffice@co.monroe.in.us

Eric Spoonmore, President
Kate Wiltz, President Pro Tempore
Trent Deckard
Marty Hawk
Peter Iversen
Geoff McKim
Cheryl Munson
Margie Rice, Council Attorney
Kimberly Shell, Budget Administrator

combined 2020 BUDGET PUBLIC HEARINGS and WORK SESSION MINUTES SEPTEMBER 24, 2019 AT 5:30 PM Nat U Hill Meeting Room – Courthouse – Third Floor

Members Staff

Present – Shelli Yoder, President Present – Margie Rice, Council Attorney

Present – Eric Spoonmore, President Pro Tempore Present – Kimberly Shell, Deputy Auditor

Present – Trent Deckard Present – Lorie Robinson, Financial Director

Present – Marty Hawk Present – Geoff McKim

Present – Cheryl Munson

Present – Kate Wiltz

Community Access Television Services (CATS) provides a public access recording of this meeting and is free to view online at www.catstv.net.

1. CALL TO ORDER 5:39

2. PUBLIC HEARING – FY 2020 BUDGET 5:40

-Town of Stinesville

Spoonmore moved approval of Resolution 2019-17: Granting the Town of Stinesville's Petition for A Budget Increase and Approval of Associated Property Tax Levies for Fiscal and Calendar Year 2020. (Resolution read in full).

McKim seconded.

Council discussion ensued.

Public Comment: None

Yoder called for a Roll Call Vote:

Deckard Yes
Munson Yes
McKim Yes
Spoonmore Yes
Yoder Yes

Wiltz Yes Hawk Yes

Motion Passed: 7-0; Unanimous

3. PUBLIC HEARING – FY 2020 BUDGET 5:48

- -Monroe Solid Waste Management District
- -Monroe Fire Protection District
- -Monroe County

Yoder stated this is a public hearing only of the budgets presented; no vote will be taken on the items.

Monroe Solid Waste Management District Council Discussion (Hawk, Wiltz) Public Comment – None

Monroe Fire Protection District

Council Discussion (Munson, Deckard, Hawk)

Public Comment: Dustin Dillard, Fire Chief of the Monroe Fire Protection District

Monroe County 2020 Budget Council Discussion (McKim, Deckard, Hawk) Public Comment – None

First Reading of these Items will take place on Monday, October 07, 2019, at 5:30 p.m. The Second Reading, and Adoption, will take place on Tuesday, October 08, 2019, at 5:30 p.m. Both meeting will be held in the Nat U. Hill Meeting Room, 100 W. Kirkwood Avenue, Bloomington, Indiana.

Public Hearings Adjourned at 5:59

WORK SESSION CALLED TO ORDER. 5:59

4. HEALTH DEPARTMENT, Penny Caudill

A. Request Approval for a Category Transfer

8153-0000, Harm Reduction Grant

FROM:

43240 Vehicle & Bed Cover \$600

TO:

20011 Other Supplies \$600

The Department requested a category transfer in Fund 8153, Harm Reduction. In an effort to fully utilize the funds, staff spoke with the Indiana State Department Health program staff to include some supply type items for the mobile unit which was approved. This required a local approval.



B. Request Approval for a Category Transfer

8155-9619, Overdose Prevention Grant

FROM:

30006 Contractual \$175

TO:

20011 Other Supplies \$175

The Department requested a category transfer in Fund 8155, Overdose Prevention. The Indiana State Department of Health program staff approved expenditures prior to being made. With the grant cycle ending, the staff will try to utilize the funds as much as possible. This transfer is needed to balance out the expenditures.

Spoonmore moved for approval of Health Department Requests for a Category Transfer. McKim seconded.

Rice presented on these Items. Council Discussion ensued.

Public Comments: None Yoder called for a Voice Vote.

Motion passed; Unanimous; No Objections

6. DISCUSSION REGARDING JOB DUTIES MOU FOR BUDGET & GRANT ADMINISTRATOR. 6:02

Rice presented this item. Council discussion ensued. Council Members will send suggestions directly to Margie Rice, Council Attorney. This will be discussed further at the October 22, 2019 Work Session.

7. COUNCIL COMMENTS 6:15

Hawk McKim Deckard Yoder

8. ADJOURNMENT 6:20

Monroe County, Auditor

The Minutes from the Regular Session of the Monroe County Council held on September 24, 2019 were approved on **November 26, 2019**.

COUNTY COUNCIL OF MONROE COUNTY, INDIANA

Ave"	"Nay"
Eric Spoonmore, President	Eric Spoonmore Yoder, President
Kato Wiltz Drogidant Dro Tampono	Voto Wilter Duoridont Duo Tourness
Kate Wiltz, President Pro Tempore	Kate Wiltz, President Pro Tempore
Trent Deckard, Member	Trent Deckard, Member
Most How	
Marty Hawk, Member	Marty Hawk, Member
Peter Iversen, Member	Peter Iversen, Member
Geoff McKim, Member	Geoff McKim, Member
Areul Aru Aus Go	
Cheryl Munson, Member	Cheryl Munson, Member
ATTEST: Catherine Smith	