Department - Quick Link Minimize
I Want To... Minimize
MCG Links Minimize
Monroe County Planning Department Minimize

The Monroe County Planning Department performs a vital role in creating and communicating a vision of the county and acts as the primary coordinating agency in the development, adoption, and implementation of the county's land use plans and policies. The department provides both current and long range planning services to the various County boards, including the Plan Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals, County Commissioners, as well as to the general public.

Monroe County Public Notices

Click Here to view a larger map.

View Monroe County Public Notices in a larger map

Monroe County Urbanizing Area Plan:

The process to develop a plan for the areas surrounding the City of Bloomington is underway.  Stay informed by visiting the project website - Monroe County Urbanizing Area Plan.

Rural Zoning Proposal:

View the text of the most current proposal for Rural Zoning in Monroe County. (Updated 6.19.2014)

View the most recent slideshow presented at the June 17, 2014 Plan Commission Meeting.
(Updated 6.20.2014)

Email us your Questions / Comments / Ideas / Concerns at
Comments will be accepted through June 21, 2014.

Interested in Monroe County active transportation?

Vist to learn more.

Planning News Minimize
Aug18 8/18/2014 11:02:00 AM by Jason Eakin

We’re looking for a dedicated zoning inspector to join our team!  

Planning Department Minimize
Location: Monroe County
Plan Commission
Monroe County
Government Center

501 N. Morton St., Suite 224
Bloomington, IN 47404
Phone: (812) 349-2560
Fax: (812) 349-2967
Hours: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday - Friday


Planning Director Contact Info Minimize

Larry J. Wilson
Planning Director

Employee Directory Minimize
Select Andrew Bredeson SPEA Service Corp Fellow
Select Beth Rosenbarger Planner/GIS Specialist
Select Carly Petersen Planner I
Select Jacqueline Scanlan Senior Planner
Select Jason Eakin Assistant Director
Select Larry Wilson Director
Select Shirley Yates Office Manager
Select Tammy Behrman Planner/GIS Specialist