Department - Quick Link Minimize
I Want To... Minimize
Traffic Commission Minimize

General Information


Members Appointed by Term Expires
Joe Goss Commissioners             12/31/18
Paul White Commissioners 12/31/18
Amanda Turnipseed Commissiioners 12/31/19
Reed Adams County Council 12/31/19

Lisa Ridge, Publice Works Director

By Virtue of Office  
John  Chambers, Highway Superintendant By Virtue of Office  
Brad Swain, County Sheriff By Virtue of Office  


TERM:  Two years

CONTACT:  John Chambers - 812-825-5355

The duties of the Commission shall include, but not be limited to, making recommendations for ordinances to the Board of Commissioners to: 

  • determine the location of stop signs, slow
    signs and yield signs on County roads
  • set speed limits
  • designate one-way roads
  • regulate the operation of bicycles
  • regulate traffic generally by the authority of IC 9-21-1-3.

The commission consists of seven Traffic Commission members including the Monroe County Sheriff or designee, the Monroe County Highway Superintendent or designee and the Monroe County Highway Engineer or designee.  in addition, there shall be four members, three of whom shall be district  representatives, and one of whom shall be a representative of the County at-large, and all of whom shall be appointed for a term of two years.  There shall be one representative appointed by the Board of Commissioners from each of the three Commissioner districts and one at-large member appointed by the County Council.  All members of the Commission shall be voting members.

 The scheduled meeting dates for the 2017 Monroe County Traffic Commission are as follows.  These meetings will be held at 1:30 pm in the North Showers Building, 501 N. Morton St., in Conference Room 106 A.

2018 Monroe County Traffic Committee Meeting Schedule

January 18, 2018
February 15, 2018
March 15, 2018
April 19, 2018
May 17, 2018
June 21, 2018CANCELED
July 19, 2018
August 16, 2018
September 20, 2018
October 18, 2018
November 15, 2018
December 20, 2018



Public Works Minimize


501 N. Morton Street
Showers Building
Room 216 (Map)

Phone: 812-349-2555
Fax: 812-349-2959
Stormwater 812-349-2117
Pot Hole
Road Maint.
Snow Removal


Hours: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday - Friday