Department - Quick Link Minimize
I Want To... Minimize
Adobe Reader Minimize

Most documents available on Monroe County Government's web site are in PDF format. Latest Adobe Acrobat Reader can be downloaded free here.

NOTE:  Mozilla Firefox is experiencing problems when downloading fillable PDF forms.  They are currently working on this issue.  If you use Firefox as your browser, you will be prompted to open with a different viewer as these type of PDF forms do not display correctly.  Fillable forms will display properly using Internet Explorer.

Committees Minimize

Community Organizations Active in Disaster (COAD)

COAD for Monroe County, Indiana serves as an organizational network of representatives from public, private and not-for-profit agencies. Our mission is to enhance the community’s ability to mitigate, prevent, prepare for, respond to and recover from large-scale disasters, thus ensuring that human needs in a disaster situation are evaluated and addressed.

For more information visit

Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) District Planning Council (DPC)

The primary mission of a District Planning Council is to efficiently and effectively manage and coordinate a core set of preparedness activities that focus on strategic and operational planning; resource allocation and resource management; first responder training and exercises; as well as promoting coordination and communication with all levels of federal, state, and local governments.

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

LEPCs are appointed by the Indiana Emergency Response Commission (IERC). LEPCs must consist of representatives of all of the following groups and organizations: 

Elected and local officials

Law enforcement

Emergency management


Emergency medical services


Local environmental and transportation agencies


Broadcast and print media

Community groups

Representatives of facilities subject to the emergency planning and community right-to-know requirements

The Monroe County LEPC meets on the third Wednesday every quarter, beginning in February, at 1:30p.m. The meetings take place at the Northern Monroe Fire Station located at 5081 N. Old State Road 37, Bloomington, IN.

For more information contact John Hooker III, Chairman of the Monroe County Local Emergency Planning Committee at