Department - Quick Link Minimize
I Want To... Minimize
EMA News Feed Minimize
Monroe County Emergency Management Minimize



Emergency Management means the preparation for and the coordination of all emergency functions other than functions for which military forces or other federal agencies are primarily responsible, to prevent, minimize and repair injury and damage resulting from disasters.

For the entire Indiana Code chapter on emergency management and the directives state legislature lays out for the formation and regulation of an emergency management agency at the county level, go to Select Title 10, Article 14.  

 Mission Statement

To establish and maintain a progressive emergency management program that promotes the mitigation of, preparation for, the response to, and the recovery from emergencies and disasters impacting the public, government, and business of the communities in Monroe County.

Emergency Management News Minimize
Apr24 4/24/2017 8:37:00 AM by Lisa Kane

We will be offering Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) Basic Training beginning in May. This training is free and open to anyone at least 18 years of age. CERT Basic Training is designed to prepare you to help yourself and to help others in the event of a catastrophic disaster. Because emergency services personnel will not be able to help everyone immediately, you can make a difference by using your CERT training to save lives and protect property. The training will be held at the Monroe County Highway Garage located at 5900 W Foster Curry Dr, Bloomington, IN 47403. Participants may register for one of two training series. The Monday Series will be from 6-9pm on May 1, 8, 15, 22, June 5, 12, 19 & 26 and the Saturday Series from 9am to 5pm on May 6, 20 & June 3 (bring a lunch – fridge & microwave available). You must attend all sessions to receive credit for the class. 

Emergency Management Office Minimize
Location: 5900 W Foster Curry Dr
Bloomington IN 47403 (Map)
Phone: 812-349-2546
Fax: 812-349-2052
Hours: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday - Friday


Emergency Management Contact Info Minimize

Allison Moore, Director

Lisa Kane, Deputy Director

Emergency Management Advisory Council Minimize

The EMAC informs the operation of Emergency Management, as layed out in Indiana statute.

Name Affiliation
Ryan Cobine Monroe County Council
Amanda Barge Monroe County Commissioners
Tom Myers Civil Air Patrol

Jim Davis, Chairman

Town of Ellettsville
Vacant Stinesville Town Board
Chris Wheeler City of Bloomington

Ken Long, Vice Chair

Indiana University

Penny Caudill,  Secretary

Monroe County Health Deptartment
Don Adams Local Business Owner